Chicago artist Sen Morimoto is back with the next single, “Deeper” from his forthcoming LP DiagnosisThe song harkens back to Morimoto’s earlier works as he floats between jazz guitar with angelically dreamy vocal melodies and nimble raps. It’s a serene moment on the album otherwise full of menacing rock.  The song is about attempting to experience the full depth of our emotions, good and bad, Sen notes:

“There is a place in the center of my chest, tucked behind my heart, where only the most extreme depths of grief or joy make themselves known. When the context of everything in your life is squeezed into a single moment by the pressure of an overwhelming present it feels like you’re at the bottom of the ocean. Nothing’s deeper.”

Sunday October 22nd Sen is throwing a free album listening at a drive-in movie theater in Chicago’s Pilsen neighborhood. Fans will be able to hear the album how it was meant to be heard via the radio and will also view all the music videos on the big screen. After the album listening there will be a screening of 70’s horror rock opera that inspired some of the Diagnosis universe – Phantom of the Paradise. RSVP and find more info HERE.

The song follows singles “Bad State,” “Diagnosis” and “If The Answer Isn’t Love”.

Out November 3rd via City Slang & Morimotos’s own Sooper Records the album can – and should – prove a larger blueprint for others. It’s a guide with which to release your anger and understand yourself and the world a little better, all while freely admitting to possessing no concrete answers to the existential questions that plague our everyday. The 13-track-long effort marks a fundamental shift both sonically and thematically. Exploring a wide range of genres and musical influences— alternative pop, dark rock, bright jazzy-infused pop, glistening orchestral soundscapes, and even subdued singer-songwriter sounds are detectable within the musical revelation that is Diagnosis. The topical shift as well brings exploration of childhood, American identity, nostalgia, and the insidious nature of late-stage capitalism— a notable change from his previous introspective works such as his 2018 debut Cannonball! and the 2021 self-titled follow-up. 

Diagnosis Tracklist

1. If The Answer Isn’t Love

2. Bad State

3. St. Peter Blind

4. Diagnosis

5. Pressure On The Pulse

6. Naive

7. Feel Change

8. What You Say

9. Surrender

10. Deeper

11. Pain

12. Forsythia (レンギョウの旋律)

13. Reality

[Photo Credit: AJ Incammicia ]

Post a Comment